HEAVY LIFTERS

…which end will you lift on?

IRONY

It’s funny how life is.  With just a little time (and a lot of prayer), things can change … drastically.

Many friends have been asking me how working with the African kids on Sunday nights is going.  I’m glad you asked.  Funny story, this.

Last Sunday night, I showed up at the usual time to get the room ready for the lesson.  An elder’s wife  came in and told me that a couple from another church would be arriving to teach the kids.  Apparently, these people come once a month to minister to the children.

Even as recently as a couple of weeks ago, I would have been any of the following:  relieved, thrilled, grateful, wildly happy.  Instead, I was … jealous.   Jealous!

Isn’t that weird?  When this couple came, I told them who I was and what I was doing, and that I’d just stay in the background and help if they needed it.   Secretly (but not so secretly anymore, I suppose) I was glad when one little girl only wanted ME to hold her, and two other kids only wanted to sit by me.  I had my little posse around me.  Isn’t that petty of me?   Hey, what can I say?  I love those kids, and I felt like strangers were swooping in to “steal” them from me.  That’s not what they did; that’s just how I felt:  protective.

As I reflected afterward on my time with the kids and my reaction to outside help, I realized how much the Lord has taught me.  Seriously, if you know me, you know that I don’t even really care for little kids that much.  Or rather, I didn’t care for little kids – until now.  Now I’m pretty crazy about these guys.

My complete turnaround in just this one little area of my life shows how powerful prayer is.  I prayed that God would help me to love these kids, thinking I’d get enough “love” to get me through three hours every Sunday.  But look at what I got!  Love overflowing.

Just think:  we say we can’t change, or can’t break a habit, or whatever.  Of course we can’t.  But the Lord can!   It might sound cliche because it is often said, but it’s totally true:     prayer changes things.  More importantly, prayer changes us.

On another note, THANK YOU to those of you who sent craft supplies and/or money for supplies to give these kids something to do!  You know who you are, more importantly, God knows who you are, and the kids and I are grateful for you!

Pray without ceasing, family!  I love you all.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

